My Diary Stuff

My Reads

Me:
  • Age: 20s
  • Location: Southern England, UK
  • Occupation: being a Princess..
  • Education: GCSE/A-Level/Bachelors
  • Pros: I love Islam, my pets, my friends and my family
  • Cons: I hate being lonely, missing people, work, not having healthiness
  • Aspirations: train in something useful like teaching, get married and have children (I think that wraps it up nicely!)

[ random | list all ]

Subscribe to hisponiola
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
You Are Beauty
You are Beauty. You are beautiful, whether it be on the inside, the
outside, or both. People are drawn to you as
strongly as you are drawn to the beauty in the
world around you.

What Emotion Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

2003-08-10 - 12:06 a.m.

Long time no entry I guess. Well work has kinda been getting me down and tiring me, plus it's been hot... so I haven't felt too much like doing any updating.

Today my friend, who has cancer, broke the news to me that 'theoretically' according to the doctors she only has until approx. Christmas to live. This is like one of my closest friends, she's the same age as me... I didn't know what to say. The worst part is she was at Medical School training to be a doctor, so that she could help other people, but she's been forced to quit that now.

Last Tuesday, I had a bad experience at work. First a GP called wanting a child protection referral and got put through to about 4 different people before coming through to me... she then starts yelling at me in a nasty way and accusing me of this, that and the other. I do the referral and the whole time, whilst I am trying to write the details down, she is being narky with me and generally suggesting I have the IQ of a flea. I felt like saying: "If you would only shut the f--- up, I might actually be able to do this", but clearly I didn't. So I put her through to the screening team and my supposed 'colleague' at the other end starts being rude and nasty to me... I just couldn't believe it. Was it attack Nosher day? I attempted to be a bit icy back and think I 50% succeeded, but when I got off the phone I bit my lip and held my face in my hands before promptly bursting into tears. *Cringe*

M, who I work with, rushes over and then of course I just felt like a big baby. I grabbed a handful of tissues - Social Services has boxes of tissues everywhere, now you know why - and sniffle a bit. D, the trainee girl, tries to talk to/comfort me and suddenly my mananger appears. Argh! M has gone and got her. So anyway, my manager made me go and sit outside in the courtyard with her till I recover. I told her I totally don't suit this job, it's just way too stressful for me.

Then on Friday evening I go for my doctor's appointment, he takes my blood pressure and asks: "Nosher what on earth have you been doing?!"

"Um" I pause and look a bit embarassed, "I work for social services reception"... enough said!

He takes my hand and says, please try and calm down because your blood pressure (which is normally ROCK BOTTOM) has bombed through the roof since I last saw you. Anyway, I sit there with the freakin' GP holding my hand, he takes the blood pressure again a few minutes later and it's gone down a teeny bit, or enough to make him happy.

So, he advises me to get out of this job. Which I am already doing - only two weeks to go! But it was quite a shock for me. Stress can do some weird things and apparently it's been mucking my hormones up too. My weight's good... he's happy about that, but I need to start on a Glycaemic Indexed diet to try and help my insulin resistance. Hmmm...

FUN!

I'd have been quite intersted to have worn one of those pulse/blood pressure monitor things at work and have had it recording all day, just to see what havoc that job is having on my system. They just don't pay us enough to compensate for all the stress we are put through.

Yeah so that's about it in the land of Nosher. I am relieved to get the doctor's visit out of the way. Not much planned the next couple of days because I have 3 days of work this week, so I am going to be resting. Work's going to be more of a nightmare because there's only going to be me and one other lady working... which means half the staff are off! We are dreading it and it's all because our manager went and let two full time people have annual leave at the same time... DUH! Oh roll on 20th August... he hee.

TTFN

Previous - Next